Brief History of Ebonyi State House of Assembly

The state house of Assembly came into being following its proclamation by the first Executive Governor of the state, His Excellency Dr. Sam Ominyi Egwu on 1st June 1999. This (Proclamation) was in accordance with the sub section 3 of section 64 of the constitution of the Federal Republic of Nigeria. Shortly after the proclamation of the House, the speaker of the House, Rt. Hon Barrister Julius Ali Ucha was elected and sworn in by the clerk of the House, Mr. Okoro Nicholas N. This was equally followed with the election of the deputy speaker; Hon Barrister Onwe S. Onwe. Thereafter principal functionaries of the House were elected, though by their party members. They are, majority leader- Hon Sunday Jacob Chukwu, Minority leader- Hon Barrister Arinze Ewgu, The chief Whip –Hon. Tobias Okwuru, the Deputy Majority leader –Hon. Sabinus Nwankwegu, the Deputy Minority leader –Hon .Fidelis Ogodo, the minority whip- Hon. Fabian Mouneke, and Minority Whip- Hon. Simon Iseh. The House created various committees to take charge of the activities of the Assembly. These committees includes: House service committee, Education, Health, Agriculture and Resources, Works and Housing, Special Duties, Environmental Ethnic and privileges, Local Government and Chieftaincy affairs ,Human rights Judicial committee, and Business and Rules committee, etc. Members of these committees were so formed that all Hon. Members irrespective of their political party heads at least one committee. There are at present a total of twenty-four (24) Honorable members from twenty-four (24) constituencies. Major positions were shared across the three political zones of the state; Abakaliki , onueke and Afikpo, the speaker is from North central and Ebonyi south , the Deputy speaker is from Northern Zone, the zone the of the Deputy Governor of the state.